FROM phone boxes to photographs, history talks to heritage walks, the rich past of communities and industry all around the north of Glasgow comes to life next month.

Stretching from Kirkintilloch to Milngavie, Local History Week promises a fantastic line-up of events and activities, organised by East Dunbartonshire Libraries.

It’s part of Scottish Local History Week, a national event which aims to highlight the heritage and culture of areas all over the country.

Many events focus on the great contribution made by local industries such as paper mills and foundries.

Highlights include Phone boxes, pillar boxes and others: The Lion Foundry’s contribution to the visual world, at the Barony Chambers in Kirkintilloch’s Auld Kirk Museum.

It’s a fantastic chance to see photos and other graphic illustrations form the collections of Kirkintilloch and District Society of Antiquaries members to show the impact that the area’s famous Lion Foundry has had on streetscapes in Britain and elsewhere.

The foundry made thousands of the iconic red K6 boxes which were designed by Sir Giles Gilbert Scott in 1935 to coincide with the Jubilee of King George V.

You can still see them in Kirkintilloch, including on Alexandra Street as well as in the Auld Kirk Museum.

Initially known as the Jubilee Kiosk, around 70,000 were installed throughout Britain between 1936 and 1968.

The display is on March 7, from 2pm until 3.30pm.

Milngavie Heritage Centre will be hosting a Memories of Milngavie exhibition in the Town Hall throughout Local History Week (excluding Sunday March 4 and Wednesday March 7).

The exhibition will include a wide-ranging selection of Milngavie photographs, documents and other materials, selected from the collections held at the Heritage Centre

For the more energetic, the Heritage Centre has organised an Ellangowan Paperworks walk through Milngavie.

The walk will start at Milngavie railway station and follow the railway line to the paperworks before exploring the area around the library canal where waste from the mill was dumped.

The Ellangowan Paper Company, owned by Colonel John Birrell, was one of Milngavie’s biggest employers, providing jobs for a great many men and women.

It was originally called the Allander Paper Mill, but changed name when Colonel Birrell took it over in 1882.

He had entered the paper industry as a young apprentice and worked his way up.

The business prospered and Birrell became sole partner on the death of his colleague in 1894. He invested heavily in new machinery, introducing electric power and lighting to make the mill one of the most modern in the country.

Places on the walk, which takes place at 11am and 2pm on Saturday March 3, must be booked by calling 0141 956 3541.

The Forth and Clyde Canal Society has also organised a short walk in Kirkintilloch that will explore the Canal’s rich heritage.

Guide Paul Carter will lead the walk between Kirkintilloch Marina Bridge and Hillhead Bridge on Saturday March 3 at 10.30am.

There is another chance to view the 2017 East Dunbartonshire Schools Art Exhibition at the Thomas Muir Coffee Shop.

The event, organised by the Friends of Thomas Muir, will feature the 25 finalists who were shortlisted down from over 700 entries.

Sandy Marshall, Chair of East Dunbartonshire Leisure and Culture Trust, said: “By exploring the history of East Dunbartonshire, we can learn about our heritage in a fun and inspiring way.

“The full Local History Week 2018 programme is now available, detailing activities and events across East Dunbartonshire throughout the week – exhibitions, talks and walks.

“There is something on for everyone.”

Local History Week runs from March 3 to 10. For further information contact East Dunbartonshire Information & Archives on 0300 123 4510 or email: or visit the website