ANDY MURRAY will look to win back-to-back grand slam titles when he takes on Novak Djokovic in the Australian Open final in Melbourne on Sunday.

Djokovic has the upper hand in their head-to-head record, having won 10 of their 17 meetings.

Here, we look at six of their most important clashes.

2008 – Cincinnati Masters: Murray won 7-6 (7/4) 7-6 (7/5)

The pair's first meeting in a final saw Murray win his maiden Masters Series title after edging out Djokovic in two tie-breaks. The Scot suffered a few nerves before closing out what was then the biggest title of his career.

2011 – Australian Open: Djokovic won 6-4 6-2 6-3

Hopes were high Murray could land his first major after losses in the final of the US Open in 2008 and the Australian Open in 2010, both times to Roger Federer. But he was simply blown away as Djokovic produced a masterclass in Melbourne.

2012 – Australian Open: Djokovic won 6-3 3-6 6-7 (4/7) 6-1 7-5

Murray got the chance to avenge his defeat in Melbourne 12 months earlier when the pair met in the 2012 semi-finals. And, although Murray's performance was a huge improvement, the outcome was the same as eventual champion Djokovic advanced to meet Rafael Nadal in an epic final.

2012 – London Olympics: Murray won 7-5 7-5

Having lost in the final of Wimbledon to Federer the previous month, Murray gave himself another crack at the Swiss by beating Djokovic in the Olympic semi-finals. Murray sealed victory by breaking Djokovic at 6-5 in both sets. Murray went on to beat Federer to claim the gold medal.

2012 – US Open: Murray won 7-6 (12/10) 7-5 2-6 3-6 6-2

Djokovic had not lost a grand slam match on hard courts for two years, but this time Murray came out on top after four hours and 54 minutes. Murray at last became a grand slam champion.

2012 – Shanghai Masters: Djokovic won 5-7 7-6 (13/11) 6-3

Another classic meeting between the pair, which provided Djokovic with a little revenge a month after the US Open final. Murray served for the match and held five match points in all but it was Djokovic who clinched the title after three hours and 21 minutes.