CYCLING star Sir Chris Hoy was crowned Sportsperson Of The Year in a glittering ceremony at Glasgow City Chambers.

The six-time Olympic gold medallist was unable to receive his award in person, but filmed a special video that was played on the night.

He said: "It is a massive honour to be awarded the Glasgow Sportsperson Of The Year Award.

"It is a very exciting time for sport in Glasgow, particularly with the Commonwealth Games coming up. I hope everybody will get behind it and we will make it the best Games ever."

Winners took home awards in 13 categories at the Sportsperson Of The Year 2012 awards.

Three of Glasgow's greatest were awarded gongs for their contribution to sport in the city in the Evening Times' sponsored categories.

Aileen McGlynn, 39, from Crookston, six-time Paralympics medallist and Evening Times Scots Sportswoman Of The Year 2008, won the gong for Evening Times' Disabled Athlete Of The Year.

She said: "Just to be nominated for them is amazing and to win is the cherry on the cake."

Andrew Mullen, 16, from Newton Mearns, won Evening Times' Glasgow Young Sportsperson Of The Year for his feats at London 2012.

He was born with only one functional limb and started swimming about 10 years ago with Temple Swimming Club. He went on to reach three out of three finals in his events at the Paralympics last year.

He said: "I am really pleased, especially winning in a year of such amazing sporting achievements."

Caroline Johnstone, 57, from Kelvindale, won the Evening Times' Glasgow Volunteer Sportsperson Of The Year Award.

She set up Neil's Wheels 10 years ago to raise money to buy sports wheelchairs for her son Neil, now 17, and other disabled children in Glasgow's West End.

Caroline, who also founded Cleveden Community Club, said : "It is great recognition for the group who have helped me create Neil's Wheels."

Olympic gold-winning rower Katherine Grainger was honoured with the Leader's Special Award, which was presented by Glasgow City Council leader Gordon Matheson, while Olympic silver-winning swimmer Michael Jamieson won the Lord Provost's Award, presented by Lord Provost Sadie Docherty.

A special award – the Glasgow Olympic and Paralympic Award – was also presented to all local members of Team GB and ParalympicsGB.


Evening Times Disabled Athlete of the Year: Aileen McGlynn

Service to Sport – Lifetime Achievement: Eric Flack

Glasgow Team of the Year: Special Olympics Scotland West Swim Team

Evening Times Glasgow Young Sportsperson of the Year: Andrew Mullen

Glasgow Club of the Year: Glasgow Girls FC

Primary Sports School of the Year: Camstradden Primary

Secondary Sports School of the Year: King's Park Secondary

Glasgow Student Athlete of the Year: Robbie Renwick

Glasgow Coach of the Year:

Ray Cavanagh

Evening Times Volunteer of the Year: Caroline Johnstone

Sportsperson of the Year: Sir Chris Hoy

Leaders Special Award: Katherine Grainger

Lord Provost Award: Michael Jamieson