1 Forfar:

The county town of Angus until local government reorganisation in 1975.

2 Rothesay: County town of Bute, one of the smallest local authorities in the country.

3 Elgin: The county town of Moray, once known as Elginshire.

4 Cupar: County town of Fife for centuries until 1975 when it lost the title to Glenrothes.

5 Jedburgh: Former county town of Roxburghshire until reorganisation created Borders Council.

6 Dornoch: The golf and seaside resort, pictured, was the county town of Sutherland.

7 Stonehaven: Formerly the county town of Kincardine-shire in the North-East.

8 Inveraray: County town of Argyll until 1975 and also home of the Dukes of Argyll.

9 Hamilton: Once the historic county town of Lanarkshire.

10 Duns: The county town of Berwickshire when the government boundaries were changed in 1975.