Top 10 old Scottish county towns

1 Forfar:

Loading Comments

The county town of Angus until local government reorganisation in 1975.

2 Rothesay: County town of Bute, one of the smallest local authorities in the country.

3 Elgin: The county town of Moray, once known as Elginshire.

4 Cupar: County town of Fife for centuries until 1975 when it lost the title to Glenrothes.

5 Jedburgh: Former county town of Roxburghshire until reorganisation created Borders Council.

6 Dornoch: The golf and seaside resort, pictured, was the county town of Sutherland.

7 Stonehaven: Formerly the county town of Kincardine-shire in the North-East.

8 Inveraray: County town of Argyll until 1975 and also home of the Dukes of Argyll.

9 Hamilton: Once the historic county town of Lanarkshire.

10 Duns: The county town of Berwickshire when the government boundaries were changed in 1975.

Local government

Commenting & Moderation

We moderate all comments on Evening Times on either a pre-moderated or post-moderated basis. If you're a relatively new user then your comments will be reviewed before publication and if we know you well and trust you then your comments will be subject to moderation only if other users or the moderators believe you've broken the rules

Moderation is undertaken full-time 9am-6pm on weekdays, and on a part-time basis outwith those hours. Please be patient if your posts are not approved instantly.


Have you got a story?

Contact the news desk on 0141 302 6520 or email
Games news:

Putting the world to rights

Gail's Gab

My thoughts after Police Scotland are ordered to apologise over IRA interrogation techniques slur.




Cat’s Eyes on Glasgow

Cat’s Eyes on Glasgow

Cat Cubie’s job is to find and share with you the fabulous things the city has to offer, from gigs to gastro.

Janice Bell

Janice Bell

You Couldn't Make This Up

Sun, sea and sangria beats an active break.

Michelle McManus

Michelle McManus

Columnist Michelle McManus is Sussed in the City, and loves to chat about anything and everything.