GLASGOW MSPs claimed £ £305,407.53 in expenses last year.

The latest annual release of who claimed for what at Holyrod shows

The details show a city MSP in a dispute with a landlord that cost £10,000 in legal fees.

Bills for the case put James Dornan Cathcart MSP top of the list of Glasgow’s 16 MSPs with a total of £40,736.

Mr Dornan said the dispute was over him moving his constituency office and the ending of a lease agreement.

HE said the landlord was seeking extra costs charges and he took legal advice,

He said it was eventually settled out of court and the parliamentary authorities were aware of his actions.

Mr Dornan said: “The liabilities were unfair and as the office costs are paid by the public purse I was trying to save taxpayers money.”

Mr Dornan’s legal bills put him ahead of Fellow SNP MSP, Bill Kidd who claimed £32,301.

The third highest in the city was Sandra White, Kelvin SNP MSP, who claimed £28,105.

The lowest was Nicola Sturgeon at £13,005. Ms Sturgeon as First Minister doesn’t need to claim for hotel accommodation in Edinburgh or transport when on government business.

Next lowest was Labour MSP Johann Lamont at £13,001 and James Kelly, Labour MSP, at £13,489.

Most of the expenses are taken up with hotel and travel costs both to and from Edinburgh and getting around the constituency.

The Glasgow MSPs claimed £67,492 in hotel costs, £16,459 in train fares and £3,476 for taxis.

In total Scotland’s 129 MSPs claimed £16,159,707 in the last year an increase on the year before.

A Scottish Parliament spokesman said: “The cost of expenses incurred in carrying our parliamentary duties rose by less than the rate of inflation last year.

Bob Doris SNP Maryhill and Springburn £19,925

James Dornan SNP Cathcart £40,736

Patrick Harvie Green Glasgow ££20,089

James Kelly Lab Glasgow £14,489

Bill Kidd SNP Anniesland £32, 301

Johann Lamont Lab Glasgow £13,101

John Mason SNP Shettleston £22,991

Ivan McKee SNP Provan £16,789

Pauline McNeill Lab Glasgow £16,570

Anas Sarwar Lab Glasgow £18,980

Nicola Sturgeon SNP Southside £13,005

Adam Tomkins Con Glasgow £15,100

Annie Wells Con Glasgow £15,968

Sandra White SNP Kelvin £28,105

Humza Yousaf SNP Pollok £17,252