When is it?

The draw will be made on Friday 1 December at the State Kremlin Palace in the Russian capital of Moscow.

It will kick off at 6pm local time, 3pm in the UK, hosted by the familiar face of Gary Lineker along with Russian journalist Maria Komandnaya.

How does the draw procedure work?

The 32 qualified teams have been divided into four pots, based on their current position in the FIFA rankings.

As the host nation, Russia go into Pot 1 and Group A from the start, before the rest of the teams fill up the eight groups of four from A to H.

One other consideration is that no qualification zone other than Europe can have more than one representative in each group. There are 14 European sides going to Russia so all eight groups must have at least one UEFA nation, but no more than two – this means six of the eight groups will feature two European teams.

England are the only home nation to have made it to the finals and are in Pot 2, which means they could face the likes of Germany, Brazil, France or Argentina in their group.

Where can I watch it?

The full draw will be live on BBC Two and Sky Sports Main Event. 

When does the tournament take place?

The group stage will kick off when hosts Russia face the second seed in their group on Thursday 14 June at Moscow’s Luzhniki Stadium and continue up until the final on Sunday 15 July at the same venue.

Where are the host cities?

Ekaterinburg, Kaliningrad, Kazan, Moscow, Nozhny Novgorod, Rostov-on-Don, Saint Petersburg, Samara, Saransk, Sochi and Volgograd.