ALAN MANNUS reckons referee Steven McLean got two big first half decisions wrong as St Johnstone suffered a heavy 4-1 defeat to Rangers on Tuesday night.

The whistler awarded an early penalty when Mannus collided with striker Alfredo Morelos and James Tavernier converted from the spot to give Graeme Murty’s side a dream start at McDiarmid Park.

After Josh Windass had fired home a second shortly afterwards, Sean Goss made sure of the points with a terrific free-kick from the edge of the area.

Read more: Greg Docherty and Sean Goss have become friends off the park and key players on it at Rangers

Saints boss Tommy Wright was unhappy that Murray Davidson was penalised and booked for his challenge on Jamie Murphy in the build-up.

And Mannus was aggrieved at the first big call that saw him cautioned for bringing down Morelos inside the area.

He said: “In the first half we weren’t good enough, we were disappointed with that and the second half was a bit better. At the end they won 4-1 but they only had one other attempt apart from that.

“So it’s disappointed they’ve taken nearly all the chances they’ve had.

“I didn’t think it was a penalty. I felt the ball touch my leg. He’s touched it first and it’s touched my leg and then we’ve gone into each other.

“So for me it’s not a penalty then. What am I meant to do? Just move out of the way for him once it’s touched my leg?

Read more: Greg Docherty: I need to impress consistently for Rangers before I can earn a Scotland cap call​

“We were looking at the replay to see if it was clear that it did touch me, I felt it did after he hit it but we couldn’t see if it was clear on the replay.

“But I was certain it did, so for me as it hit my leg it was a corner and not a penalty.

“I said to the referee that it’s hit my leg after he’s hit it. I don’t know if he couldn’t see it and it wasn’t clear that it did that. For me it’s not a penalty and that changes things.

“I didn’t clearly see what’s gone on but everyone in our changing room didn’t think it was a free-kick. I’ve not seen a replay but again it’s another decision.”