GREGOR Townsend has made four changes to his Scotland team for the visit of Australia in Saturday's final autumn international.

New Zealand narrowly won 22-17 at Murrayfield last weekend after the Scots recorded an opening day 44-38 win over Samoa. 

The national stadium has been sold out again for the third and final Test, as the visiting Wallabies look to get revenge for Scotland's win in Sydney during the summer.

Townsend has made three changes in the pack, with Ryan Wilson returning at number eight after missing the All Blacks clash through injury.

Grant Gilchrist replaces Ben Toolis at lock, with his Edinburgh teammate dropping to the bench, while prop Simon Berghan will make his first start for the national team.

Saracens wing Sean Maitland was called into the squad this week after recovering from injury and goes straight into the team in the place of Lee Jones. 

The rest of the back division is made up of Glasgow Warriors players, although centre Alex Dunbar's involvement is dependent on competing the graduated return to play protocol after sustaining a concussion last weekend. 

Glasgow hooker Fraser Brown, who joined the squad this week along with Maitland, is fit enough for a place on the bench. 

"This is the third and final game of our autumn series and the players are looking forward to ending it on a high," said Townsend.

“Last weekend’s game was a proper Test match – intense, competitive and full of drama. Unfortunately, we just fell short of our goal, and were disappointed with the loss, but take confidence going into the game against Australia.

“Scotland’s recent history against Australia has been one of close-fought matches and, after a couple of narrow defeats, we managed to record a win last June out in Sydney.

“Our players have been training hard and will draw on all they’ve learned in the games against Samoa and New Zealand to rise to the challenge of this final Autumn Test.”

Scotland team to play Australia

15. Stuart Hogg VICE CAPTAIN (Glasgow Warriors) - 55 caps

14. Tommy Seymour (Glasgow Warriors) - 38 caps
13. Huw Jones (Glasgow Warriors) - 10 caps
12. Alex Dunbar (Glasgow Warriors) - 28 caps
11. Sean Maitland (Saracens) - 28 caps

10. Finn Russell (Glasgow Warriors) - 31 caps
9. Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors) - 10 caps

1. Darryl Marfo (Edinburgh Rugby) - 2 caps
2. Stuart McInally (Edinburgh Rugby) - 11 caps
3. Simon Berghan (Edinburgh Rugby) - 4 caps
4. Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh Rugby) - 17 caps
5. Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors) - 37 caps
6. John Barclay CAPTAIN (Scarlets) - 65 caps
7. Hamish Watson (Edinburgh Rugby) - 14 caps
8. Ryan Wilson VICE CAPTAIN (Glasgow Warriors) - 31 caps


16. Fraser Brown (Glasgow Warriors) - 28 caps
17. Jamie Bhatti (Glasgow Warriors) - 2 caps
18. Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) - 14 caps
19. Ben Toolis (Edinburgh Rugby) - 6 caps
20. Cornell du Preez (Edinburgh Rugby) - 4 caps
21. Henry Pyrgos (Glasgow Warriors) - 26 caps
22. Pete Horne (Glasgow Warriors) - 27 caps
23. Byron McGuigan (Sale Sharks) - 1 cap